Who knew? It’s National Vegetarian Week 19-25 May 2014

Next week apparently is National Vegetarian Week! I’ve been alerted to this fact by a Vegetarian sauce company, which has sent me their recipe to create a ‘Vegetarian burrito’ with KANKUN sauce.Their wish, to help others be inspired to eat a vegetarian burrito and other vegetarian inspired goodies (see recipe below). The reason it piqued my interest is due to a book I’ve recently been re-reading aggrresive sounding title, but also very funny and poignant, it’s called ‘Skinny bitch’. The book’s aim is to convert you to be a Vegan, but its well worth a read as it does open your eyes to several staple foods such as Milk, that perhaps you shouldn’t be consuming quite so much of or at all. Anyway it has made me think in a good way and now I have started to enjoy some vegetarian products in my new mission to eat less meat.

I’ve discovered Quorn Chicken, Cauldron’s tofu and Falafel balls and am telling all and sundry about my new love of this protein, well anybody who feigns interest. I have interestingly lost weight from my little experiment and am becoming a believer that a move away from meat could be good, so long as you are getting enough protein in other ways. It’s got to be good/ better for your colon as well in my humble opinion.

So thank you KANKUN I might just try your vegetarian burrito next week, although I will be swopping out the flour tortillas for some gluten free wholewheat tortillas.
Image

KANKUNtastic Vegetarian Burrito.
Ingredients 
2 (10 inch) flour tortillas
2 tbsp vegetable oil
1 small onion, chopped
1/2 red  pepper, chopped
1 tsp minced garlic
1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
3 ounces cream cheese
salt and pepper to taste
2 tbsp chopped fresh cilantro
1 cup of cooked rice
1 cup of lettuce
4 tsp of KANKUN® CHIPOTLE
Preparation
Warm the tortillas by heating a medium cast iron or frying pan over high heat until hot, about 3 minutes.
Preheat a frying pan for about 2 minutes. Place onion, red pepper, garlic in the pan, cook for 2 minutes stirring occasionally. Add the beans and cook for additional 3 minutes stirring.Cut cream cheese into cubes and add to pan with salt, pepper and KANKUN® Chipotle sauce. Cook for 2 minutes stirring occasionally. Stir cilantro into mixture.Warm the rice in the microwaveTo assemble the burrito, place the warmed tortillas on serving plates. Add the vegetable mixture as a base, follow by the rice. Add some lettuce Rolled carefully the tortilla ad wrap in aluminum paper.Serves 2  |  Cooking time 15 mins