A Taste of Yauatcha… Chinese food excellence in Soho

Isn’t it funny how depsite 12 years in London town, there are still yet more new places to discover.  I love that diversity. It’s even funnier how I always get very excited to soak up the ambience, people watch and enjoy exquisite food. Well Wednesday was one of those evenings, with a good friend of mine over from Sydney we decided to treat ourselves and break the bank! at Yauatcha Restaurant London, 15-17 Broadwick Street, London.

Our goregous servers in the Yauatcha bar

I’m a huge aficionado of good chinese food, with China town being a staple favourite of mine. This was an upscale experience, set in the heart of Soho’s medialand, it’s achingly hip and packed by the time we sauntered in. True we hadn’t booked and couldn’t get a table on request, but it didn’t matter as we sat in the bar section, in some rather special high backed chairs! We were greeted and looked after extremely well by our French waiter… and his Sommelier friend, ok they were rather gorgeous; but they really did see to every need. Napkins folded and re-folded, water poured and re-filled without us even noticing and the wine flowed rather too well perhaps! A bottle of white NZ Marlborough.

We decided to opt for some Dim Sum, my Aunt is Hong Kong Chinese, so I know a thing or two about good fresh Dim Sum. I was not disappointed. We choose Chinese chive and prawn dumpling, Prawn, cuttlefish & Zucchini dumpling & cuttlefish cake with lotus root. Wow ! The flavours and texture were sensational and my favourite was definitely the latter. I could easily have eaten more.

Chinese chive & prawn dumplingDim Sum Fried - Chicken & prawn taro croquette

We moved on however, although I was tempted to try some Congee…opting for steamed halibut with home-made chilli & salted radish, stir-fry rib eye beef in black bean sauce, with baby pak choi in garlic & steamed rice.

Steamed Halibut with homemade Chilli & salted radish sauce

 Now I did delibrate over pudding for a good 5 seconds but gave in once I saw the display of simply amazing goodies on offer. My friend opted for a Raspberry delice very subtle in flavour with a hint of raspberry and I went for the Cassis Chocolate – a chocolate cassis, vanilla, violet offering topped with a tiny piece of gold leaf. I think I officially entered heaven.

Cassis chocolate

Simply a devine experience darlings ! and one I’d be happy to repeat in the not too distant future
Leave a Reply

